Are we what we consume?

We want a mindset, a worldview, that lives outside of traditional binaries and judgments

Why? We feel fearful and concerned by the unmet need for choices available in binaries. Gay/Straight leaves out other and shifting orientations. Man/Woman gender binary leaves out other ways of being and seeing and the shifting that can occur. Right/Wrong are judgments that are based on individual feelings and the metness of various personal needs. We declare them as facts: you are wrong. We are right.

What we translate those statements into is this: we feel _____ when we see ____ because we have a/an met/unmet need for ______.

We observe that judging and using binaries are so much easier than experiencing and considering the complexity of every situation, of trying to decipher ours and everyone else’s feelings and needs, than collaborating and connecting and communicating and understanding, then empathy, compassion and consideration.

And we want to do that work until it becomes more automatic. We want to live outside the fear of judgments by able to translate them.

We worry that the practice, the doing the work, is made more difficult by our unmet needs for support and partnership and community. We have a therapist who meets our need for support of nonviolent communication and one who is trying to meet their and our needs for understanding and one who does not meet our need for understanding and support of NVC.

We have not found individuals who practice or want to learn NVC. Media and most other people do not meet our needs for shared reality.

So we fear that constant interactions with binaries, judgments, and forms of violence like coercion, manipulation, demands, criticism and guilt will not contribute to meeting our needs for progress and support

We worry that the more we consume ways we don’t want to interact, think, view the world, the more ingrained those ways become.

Establishing new ways without repetition, reinforcement, immersion does not meet our needs formovement, efficiency, progress

Strategies to limit binaries and violence include reducing media exposure, reducing engagement with people who prominently use binaries and judgments, taking the time to translate every interaction, every consumption of ideas, that we can.

Reducing engagement with virtually everyone is also likely to leave unmet needs for connection and closeness, so we hope translating interactions will prove a more effective strategy

Strategies to increase nonviolent interaction or thought might include taking the Compassion Course again through NYCNVC. A new year-long Course starts maybe next month. We tried it twice and did not meet need for community and did meet needs for learning. It didn’t meet our needs for community maybe because others still used judgments and binaries in interactions, which did not meet our needs for peace. Maybe those point to our strategy to increase our ability to translate violence into Nonviolence.

Another strategy is to keep speaking and writing Nonviolence in the hope it attracts people who are interested, with whom we might build community and connection and a shared reality

We asked our therapist who learned NVC to see us more than once per week as we usedto do before a 17-week leave by the therapist. They said no. We feel dejected.

Can you think of other strategies to reduce our binary and judgmental thinking? Do you agree that regular exposure to what we don’t want is contributing to unmet needs? Can you think of order e strategies to increase our ability to think nonviolently? and interact with others nonviolently? to increase our ability to translate violence into Nonviolence?

7 thoughts on “Are we what we consume?

  1. I’m sorry the therapist refused a second session. I find it hard to ask therapists things because I fear the refusal. It sucks.

    Feeling different and out-of-step from others is isolating. I can get a bit “all or nothing” with other people with this, which is itself binary. I want people to prefer the way I’ve chosen because I believe these choices are better, but then I’m judging their judgements. And I’m alone.

    I’m sorry the course wasn’t great – I find courses hit and miss myself.

    I agree, we become what we consume. Too much social media encourages me to be more polarized, for instance.

    I find similarities between some aspects of NVC and meditation practices. Perhaps a meditation group/class/course?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Therapist is moving offices again. This time closer to home. Unlikely to change their mind about adding more therapy but since we asked, maybe there’s a chance?

      We might take it as an opportunity to start looking for a therapist to add to the team. One of them is filling in the extra day this T won’t see us, and we don’t love it. The location gives us energy we don’t want.

      Went to three events for a funeral (aunt) this weekend. Being around people has soured us on wanting to interact with people. Our needs for trust and stability are unmet. Our sibling commented on our physical appearance at the burial—it was intended probably as jocular teasing. We did not appreciate it and the idea that other people were looking at us and talking about us did not meet need for how we want to be seen (or not be seen).

      Just really sick of stress. Had a panic attack after burial, acid reflux, too. took meds, slept, got a little reset

      Depressed. Not feeling very hopeful. Bought some fresh fruit to try to focus on health and the fun of flavors we like. Will try to cook and eat a flavorful dinner. Thunderstorms just passed. We were hypo-aroused so didn’t startled too much.

      How is your depression? Grief? Are you still off prazosin?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I like the idea of adding to the team. I have two counsellors I like now, but at times I’ve been seeing as many as five.

        I write that and then think how odd it is that I sometimes second-guess my mental illness challenges – not everyone has that many counsellors lol.

        I’m sorry the interactions with people were subpar. I hate when people comment on appearance. I hate when people tease appearance. I would find that would make me question the other people around me too.

        Being in depression, struggling with illness, these things are fatiguing. We get battle fatigue from mental illness in a way I think neurotypical people don’t understand.

        One of my problems with my grief is that I keep judging it. The world doesn’t do death well, it likes to compartmentalize and move on. I want to talk about my mom. I also use the words “death” and “dead.”

        The depression backed off with the break in the prazosin. I’m back on it because it really helps the dissociations, but it requires work because if my mood feels like it’s dropping, I stop for a couple of days again.

        I’m sorry hope is hard. Oddly, I like fresh fruit when I’m depressed too. Grapes, and pineapple, and raspberries, and blueberries. Maybe because I associate them with summer and summer presents as a happier season.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. “Move on” is the mantra of the world as we know it, too. We don’t seem able to, and so we will try to stay connected to our feelings and needs

          We hope you meet needs for support with however many counselors you choose.

          We are feeling depleted and jittery. Might be asked to support sibling as dad has surgery tomorrow. So trying to maintain stability

          Hope the prazosin helps

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Sending positive thoughts on the surgery.

            It is one of the strangenesses of adult/parenting that we must support others even when we need support ourselves. I’m sorry depleted is paramount.

            One of the things my counsellor reminds me of frequently is that I’m very hard on myself. I minimize and dismiss the impact of things. I expect much of myself, more than of others.

            (Did you know neurodivergent people communicate with anecdotes more? I just recently learned this.)

            Mental illness is hard. COVID has been hard. Sick family members is hard. Parenting is hard.

            I think you’re like me in this way – harsh self-judgement and not enough kindness to the self.

            I sending support, energy, and caring 💜

            Liked by 1 person

            1. He survived the surgery. They found his cancer has returned. It is probably treatable. He had been getting treatments every 3 months for years but was in a brief remission; now, he expects to return to that prior regimen

              We wound up not having to go to hospital or participate. We had already made our lunch and gotten a book ready. Kinda wanted to meet needs for contribution/participation by going but really appreciated not being around people

              In summer, we support other people almost every day: feed them, clean their dishes and clothes, emotional support. Our lack of asking for getting needs met is keeping us depleted. We want to work on it and it is probably as you say: we value is less, could benefit from more asking…

              That analogy fact surprised and interested us!

              Thank you for support energy and caring ❤️

              Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment